Holy shit go see Wall-e right now

by pegleghippie

 

Know how cars sucked ass?  Well Pixar is back in the game, motherfuckers.  Wall-e totally owned.

 

 Robot fiction, and truly human-like representations of AI are now decidely mainstream after the cute-but-fascinating portrayal of wall-e (The character) and his love interest Eve.

 

 Eve rocked on her own, being completely empowered and multi-dimensional, rather than just being a damsel in distress.

 

And the idea of people overcoming shitty environments to be something greater is a commonplace theme, but what is less commonplace was the philosophical equivalency of trying to survive and enjoying your survival.  When the autopilot says (I’m paraphrasing on this first quote), “this is necessary for survival”, and the captain responds, “I don’t want to survive, I want to live!”  he says it all.  Surviving is not enough of a goal for the decisions we make, me must also survive well.  Otherwise, there isn’t much point in accomplishing the first, is there?

 

4 Responses

  1. It was a pretty cool movie, I must say…and yes, that’s right, I saw it.

  2. I was interested in it by the previews, in a I-want-to-see-it-but-am-waiting-for-my-wife-to-suggest-it-first sort of way. The more I hear about it, the more I want to see it.

  3. WTF?! Cars didn’t suck ass! And what AUTO actually says is “On the Axiom, you will survive.”

Leave a Reply

